Georges Arsenault

Georges Arsenault

Prince Edward Island

Georges Arsenault Director


Historian, ethnologist and communicator

After completing his studies, he settled in Prince Edward Island in 1977 to assume the position of socio-cultural animator at the Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin for five years. He will coordinate an ambitious project to develop educational materials on Acadian history and culture for schools in the province, a project supported by the Ministry of Education. A series of booklets on education, agriculture, fishing and religion have been published. This collection of booklets was later expanded into a single book entitled Les Acadiens de l’Île: 1720-1980.

Arsenault later became a professor of Acadian Studies at the University of Prince Edward Island. His career then branched off to the media when the CBC chose him to host the Prince Edward Island morning show then-called “Bonjour Atlantique.” He did that for fifteen years.

A considerable collection of records of Acadian traditions in Prince Edward Island is held at the Centre d’études acadiennes at the Université de Moncton. These archives reflect Mr. Arsenault’s passion to understand where we come from and to bring heritage to life through its dissemination.  A precious legacy, a source of inspiration.

Among the articles and books on the history of Acadians of Prince Edward Island that he has published, the following are some titles: Contes, légendes et chansons de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard; Par un dimanche au soir : LéahMaddix, chanteuse et conteuse acadienne; Courir la Mi-Carême, which earned him the 2008 Island Book Award.

He also published Noël en Acadie and La Chandeleur en Acadie, and has collaborated on a book about Acadian women in Prince Edward Island.

Several honorary titles have highlighted Georges Arsenault’s career, including: member of the Ordre des francophones d’Amérique  awarded by the Government of Quebec, knight of the Order of Arts and Letters awarded by France, the médaille Léger-Comeau of the Société nationale de l’Acadie and the Ordre du mérite acadien received in 2008 from the Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin. In November 2016, he was admitted into the Order of Canada.

Did you know…

The Foundation was created in 2004 by the Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada.

Georges Arsenault

Georges Arsenault

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Georges Arsenault Directeur


Historien, ethnologue et communicateur
Historien, ethnologue et communicateur, Georges Arsenault est originaire d’Abram-Village à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences politiques avec une mineure en histoire à l’Université de Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick, M. Arsenault a poursuivi ses études à l’Université Laval à Québec pour obtenir une maîtrise en arts et traditions populaires.

Ses études terminées, il s’est établi à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 1977 pour occuper le poste d’animateur socioculturel à la Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin pendant cinq ans. Il y coordonnera un ambitieux projet de développement de matériel pédagogique sur l’histoire et la culture acadiennes pour les écoles de la province, projet soutenu par le ministère de l’Éducation. Une série de livrets sur l’éducation, l’agriculture, la pêche et la religion ont été publiés. Cette collection de livrets a été fondue plus tard en un seul ouvrage intitulé Les Acadiens de l’Île : 1720-1980.

Arsenault est devenu par la suite professeur en études acadiennes à l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Puis sa carrière a bifurqué vers les médias lorsque Radio-Canada l’a choisi pour animer l’émission matinale de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard qui s’appelait à l’époque « Bonjour Atlantique ». Il le fera pendant quinze ans.

Une collection considérable d’enregistrements sur les traditions acadiennes de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard est conservé au Centre d’études acadiennes de l’Université de Moncton. Ces archives reflètent la passion de M. Arsenault à comprendre d’où l’on vient et à faire vivre le patrimoine par sa diffusion. Un legs précieux, une source d’inspiration.

Parmi les articles et livres sur l’histoire des Acadiennes et des Acadiens de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard qu’il a publiés, retenons quelques titres : Contes, légendes et chansons de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard; Par un dimanche au soir, Léah Maddix, chanteuse et conteuse acadienne; Courir la Mi-Carême, qui lui a valu le Prix du livre de l’Île en 2008.

Il a également publié Noël en Acadie et La Chandeleur en Acadie, et a collaboré à un ouvrage portant sur les Acadiennes de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Plusieurs titres honorifiques ont souligné le parcours de Georges Arsenault, notamment : membre de l’Ordre des francophones d’Amérique remis par le gouvernement du Québec, chevalier de l’Ordre des arts et des lettres décernées par la France, la médaille Léger-Comeau de la Société nationale de l’Acadie et l’Ordre du mérite acadien reçu en 2008 de la Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin. En novembre 2016, il est admis à l’Ordre du Canada.

Saviez-vous que …

… La Fondation a été mise sur pied par la Fédération des communautés francophones et acadiennes du Canada en 2004